License Suspension in South Carolina
Columbia DUI Attorneys Defending Your Privileges
When you have built your daily schedule around your vehicle, having a suspended license can greatly limit your mobility. Without reliable transportation, previously straightforward tasks such visiting the supermarket can become tediously complicated. You may not always have a friend to drive you and public transportation can only take you so far. In South Carolina, driving under the influence (DUI) is one of the most common reasons for a driver’s license suspension and, depending on circumstances, can cause you to lose your driving privileges for up to 5 years.
If you’ve had your license suspended, it is vital to take action quickly. You only have 30 days from the alleged violation to request an administrative hearing with the DMV and contest your suspension. Even if your suspension is not overturned, you may still be eligible for a provisional or restricted license. At Masella Law Firm, our attorneys have helped countless others in your situation and we know how to maximize the chances of license retention. Let our Columbia DUI lawyers fight to restore your driving privileges so you can move on with your life.
Call us today at (803) 938-4952 to discuss your options.
Provisional and Restricted Licenses in SC
If your license has been suspended for an alcohol-related offense, you may be eligible for a provisional license pending an administrative hearing. In South Carolina, individuals with a suspended license for a first offense DUI may be eligible for a provisional license if they meet the following requirements:
· The driver has no other suspensions or charges
· The driver enrolls in the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (ADSAP)
· The driver pays an administrative fee of around $100 (circa May 2016)
A route restricted license allows for only basic operation of a vehicle for the purpose of commuting to and from work, school, and/or mandated safety courses. A person is normally eligible for this type of license only once in their lifetime and it can be valid for the duration of the suspension. This option may still be available to a person who has not been granted a provisional license.
Reinstate a Suspended License
In order to reinstate a suspended license, you will have to meet all suspension requirements dictated for your offense. Requirements and penalties for a suspended license are influenced by both the nature of the violation and any points you may already have on your driving record.
The reinstatement process may include:
· ADSAP completion
· Payment of a reinstatement fee
· SR-22 insurance certificate
· Re-examination of road and driver knowledge tests
· Installation of an ignition interlock device
After you have completed the reinstatement requirements and the suspension period ends, you may be eligible to reinstate your license. This is not an automatic process and you should not drive without a valid license. If you are unsure about the status of your license, check with the DMV immediately. In South Carolina, motorists are able to check on a driver’s license status directly on the DMV website.
Talk to Us About Your Options
If your license is suspended, call a Columbia DUI lawyer at Masella Law Firm immediately. Our attorneys have more than two decades of collective experience helping people hold on to their ability to drive. We can help you to understand license reinstatement requirements and see if a provisional license is right for you. Do not give up your driving privileges without a fight.
Schedule an appointment
with one of our lawyers today.