Marijuana is not like other drugs. It comes from nature. It’s a plant that has been scientifically proven to treat a host of medical conditions and diseases. It’s not manufactured in a laboratory or mixed with other substances. Instead, it’s in its natural state unless it’s made into an edible form of baked goods or candy. With all of the scientifically proven benefits of marijuana, it’s understandable why there’s a lot of debate around marijuana legalization.
To date, dozens of states have taken action toward marijuana reform. Many states, including California, Colorado, Alaska, Minnesota, Nevada, Ohio, Oregon, Nebraska, and many others have passed some sort of law that partially or decriminalizes marijuana possession offenses for adults. So, what is the current law in South Carolina?
Possession Still Illegal in South Carolina
Marijuana possession is still illegal in South Carolina. Here’s what you need to know:
- Possession of 1 ounce or less is a misdemeanor, punishable by 30 days in jail and a fine not to exceed $200 fine (first offense).
- Possession of 1 ounce or less (second or subsequent offense) is a misdemeanor, punishable by 1 year in jail and a fine not to exceed $2,000.
- Selling less than 10 pounds is a felony, punishable by 5 years in prison and by a fine not to exceed $5,000.
- Cultivating less than 100 plants is a felony, punishable by 5 years in prison and a fine not to exceed $5,000.
If you manufacture or sell drug paraphernalia, that is illegal too. If you possess drug paraphernalia, you will face a civil citation, which is punishable by a fine no to exceed $500.
Are you facing marijuana charges? If so, contact Masella Law Firm, P.A.at (800) 938-4952 to discuss your case with a member of our legal team.