Skip to Content

Fake ID Laws in South Carolina


Fake ID offenses might not seem like a big deal, but they can actually result in some pretty severe consequences. If you are a college student and happen to have a scholarship, you risk losing them and might even end up getting expelled. Considering how much is at stake, it would be wise to understand your rights and hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to protect and defend your legal rights.

Laws & Penalties for Fake ID Crimes in South Carolina

Using a canceled, revoked, suspended, or fraudulent driver's license is considered a misdemeanor crime, punishable up to 30 days in county jail, or 6 months for a subsequent offense. The penalty is 30 days in jail if you use another’s license or altered license to defraud or violate the law.  

Possession of a fake ID is generally associated with youths attempting to purchase alcohol or to gain admittance into clubs or bars, but this criminal offense actually carries a harsh penalty if one is convicted.

Minor in Possession of Alcohol and Possession of a Fake ID

Fake ID and minor in possession of drugs or alcohol (MIP) charges are serious offenses. Several problems can occur from such charges, including:

  • License suspension up to a year
  • It can be charged as a felony or misdemeanor, depending on the circumstances, both of which involve imprisonment
  • A conviction for either or both offenses will appear on your criminal record

Criminal Defense Attorney in Columbia

Being arrested for a crime is an overwhelming experience and you might not know what steps you should take next. At Masella Law, our firm is dedicated to protecting those who have been charged with criminal offenses. Backed by 21 years of combined experience, our legal team works with you to build a solid case for your defense to achieve the best possible outcome. With so much at stake, you need to hire a criminal defense attorney you can rely on.

Call our office today at (803) 938-4952 to learn how we can help you.

Share To: