Notice:
We are open and due to COVID-19, we will be conducting phone and video conferences upon request. Please don’t hesitate to call us!
Click here for your FREE South Carolina Statutory Healthcare Power of Attorney form. Click here for your FREE Living Will form.

Call Today 803.938.4952
Over 30 Years of Experience on Your Side Full Service Representation in Columbia, SC

South Carolina’s Hazing Law

People have been hazing for a long time; it’s often associated with college fraternities and sororities, athletic teams, and other high school and college teams and organizations. HazingPrevention.Org™ defines hazing as, “...any action taken or any situation created intentionally that causes embarrassment, harassment or ridicule and risks emotional and/or physical harm to members of a group or team, whether new or not, regardless of the person’s willingness to participate.”

Some examples of hazing include:

  • Forcing someone to consume large amounts of alcohol.
  • Forcing someone to take illegal drugs.
  • Forcing someone to consume odd foods or substances, for example, forcing them to eat spicy foods, or swallow bugs, worms, or goldfish.
  • Humiliating a potential member or “pledge.”
  • Forcing someone to undress or be naked in front of others.
  • Beating a potential member.
  • Physical abuse against a potential member.
  • Requiring the member to engage in unwanted sexual behavior.
  • Requiring the member to commit an illegal act, such as vandalism, assault, or theft.

Hazing is Illegal in South Carolina

Most states have enacted anti-hazing laws. In South Carolina, hazing is criminalized under Section 16-3-510 of the South Carolina Code of Laws Unannotated. Under Sec. 16-3-510, it reads: “It is unlawful for a person to intentionally or recklessly engage in acts which have a foreseeable potential for causing physical harm to a person for the purpose of initiation or admission with a chartered or nonchartered student, fraternal, or sororal organization.”

It is also illegal for anyone to:

  • Knowingly permit hazing,
  • Assist anyone in hazing, or
  • Fail to promptly report hazing to the CEO of the appropriate college, university, or school.

Anyone who violates South Carolina’s hazing law commits a misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum fine of $500, or by up to 12 months in jail, or both a fine and imprisonment.

Have you, or your son or daughter been charged with the crime of hazing? If so, contact Masella Law Firm, P.A.to meet with a Columbia criminal defense lawyer.