It is so easy to put off filing a personal injury claim. Whether you’re receiving treatment for your injury, or getting back into the swing of things, filing your claim is rarely the priority. However, if you wait too long, you could lose your chance to file at all.
The time limit on filing a civil claim is known as a statute of limitations. It exists to prevent someone from holding a lawsuit over someone’s head forever. It also helps prevent a case from being filed years after the event, at which point there will be little to no evidence to pursue or defend the claim.
If you were injured in South Carolina, contact our attorneys at the Masella Law Firm, P.A.
Time limits for filing vary depending on the type of civil claim and change from state to state. In South Carolina, some of the statutes of limitations are:
· Personal injury - 3 years
· Medical malpractice - 3 years
· Wrongful death - 3 years
Read more statutes of limitations for civil cases in South Carolina.
In South Carolina, you can file a personal injury claim up to 3 years after the date of the incident, or the date the injury was discovered. For example, the statute of limitations would begin upon discovering the true cause of death of a person, rather than the date they actually passed. After this 3-year limit, you may forfeit your right to file a claim.
Don’t wait to file - contact our Columbia personal injury attorneys to begin building your case. Our lawyers have experience in a variety of personal injury claims, including dog bites, car and truck accidents, premises liability, and more. With nearly 30 years of experience, our team at the Masella Law Firm, P.A. can help you fight for the compensation you deserve.
Contact us today to start your claim: (803) 938-4952.